Canal de Josep489


Great presentation of american conductor Leonard Bernstein with the New York Philharmonic, playing the Symphony No. 5 of Dmitri Shostakovich at a 1979 live perfomance on Bunka Kainan, Tokyo, Japan.…

ARv·42 videos

Faces of Classical Music

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Symphony No.6 in B minor, Op. 74, “Pathétique” (1893)

i. Adagio — Allegro non troppo
ii. Allegro con grazia
iii. Presto: Allegro molto vivace
iv. Finale: Adagio lamentoso — Andante

Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela
Claudio Abbado

Lucerne Festival at Easter
Lucerne Culture and Congress Center (KKL), 2010

musicanth·760 videos

Concerto for alto saxophone and string orchestra in E flat major, Op. 109 (1934)

A concerto by Russian composer, conductor and teacher Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936). He directed the Saint Petersburg Conservatory from 1905 to 1928, presiding over it during the turbulent Bolshevik Revolution and reorganizing the institution into the Petrograd Conservatory. Under his celebrated tenure, many great musicians and composers attended the institution, including Sergei Prokofiev, Nikolai Myaskovsky, Dmitri Shostakovich, Jascha Heifetz, George Balanchine, Vladimir Sofronitsky and Leo Ornstein, among others. In 1934, the saxophone (which had been invented a century earlier) was still relatively new to the world of classical music and it was generally considered a “middle-class” instrument; Glazunov’s decision to compose a concerto for the alto sax was quite unusual. The German saxophonist Sigurd Raschèr had been requesting a concerto from Glazunov for quite a while, and he finally composed the work in 1934. Although it was written in 1934 and performed in November of the same year in Sweden, the composer did not live to hear it played, since he was living in Paris, where the work’s premiere came after his death. Glazunov outlined the structure of the composition in a letter to Maximilian Steinberg:

– Exposition: Allegro Moderato, in 4/4, ending in G minor
– Development (brief)
– Transition: Andante (C flat major; sometimes B major), in 3/4, leading into a small cadenza
– Conclusion: Fugato (C minor), in 12/8

Saxophone: Pekka Savijoki
Conductor: Jorma Panula
New Stockholm Chamber Orchestra

Eurovision 2014

May 8, 2014

EurovisionHouse·610 videos

Mr. Rubato·30 videos

The Preludes Of Sergei Rachmaninoff, Performed By Legendary Pianist Ruth Laredo

MartialVidz·67 videos

Sakari Oramo: Conductors – The BBC Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini – BBC Proms 2013 (Stephen Hough : Piano )
Sakari Oramo: conductor (The BBC Symphony Orchestra’s Chief Conductor )
Presenter: Katie Derham at the Royal Albert Hall – London 2013
Source Info:


SuperTheseus·378 videos

Tchaikovsky Symphony NO.6 (Full Length) : Seoul Phil Orchestra
차이코프스키 교향곡 제6번 “비창”
Conuctor : 정명훈 Chung Myung-Whun
(Seoul Phil Orchestra Music Director & Permanent Orchestra Conductor)
Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra
16th,May,2011. Korean Art Centre Concert Hall, Seoul Korea.

★ Select The Movement at your pleasure.
1st – [00:28]
2nd – [20:58]
3rd – [28:40]
4th – [37:15]