wochit Entertainment


Jazz legend Ornette Coleman, the visionary saxophonist who pioneered “free jazz” and won a Pulitzer Prize in 2007, has died. Publicist Ken Weinstein says Coleman died on Thursday in Manhattan. He was 85. The Texas-born Coleman was only the second jazz artist to win the Pulitzer Prize in music when he was honored for his 2006 album “Sound Grammar.” Coleman is regarded as one of the greatest innovators in jazz history along with Louis Armstrong and Charlie Parker. In the late 1950s, he originated “free jazz,” challenging the bebop establishment by abandoning the conventional song form and liberating musicians to freely improvise off of the melody rather than the underlying chord changes. Coleman broke down the barrier between leader and sidemen, giving his band members freedom to solo, interact and develop their ideas.


This video was produced by Wochit using http://wochit.com

Anthony Braxton interviewed by Gerry Hemingway (2013)

Kenny McCabe

“Double Rainbow: The Music of Antonio Carlos Jobim is a 1995 album by jazz saxophonist Joe Henderson, released on Verve Records. It contains Henderson’s rearrangement of music by Brazilian composer Antonio Carlos Jobim.[2]

The album was originally intended to be a collaboration between Henderson and Jobim, but the plan was changed following Jobim’s death.[2]

Like his previous two albums for Verve Records, Double Rainbow received excellent reviews and relatively good sales for a jazz album in 1995. Reviewer Scott Yanow called the album “very accessible yet unpredictable”.[2] The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD awarded the album three stars and described it as “essentially high-calibre light-jazz”.[3]”

Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
Eliane Elias – piano (tracks 1-4)
Herbie Hancock – piano (tracks 6-11)
Oscar Castro-Neves – guitar (tracks 1, 2, 5)
Nico Assumpção – bass (tracks 1-4)
Christian McBride – bass (tracks 6-12)
Paulo Braga – drums (tracks 1-4)
Jack DeJohnette – drums (tracks 6-7, 9, 11)

Andreas Eastman


We are honored and thrilled that the saxophone section of the world famous Dallas Wind Symphony has chosen to endorse the Andreas Eastman line of saxophones!
Please visit http://www.dws.org to learn more about this legendary group.

The current lineup of the DWS saxophone section is as follows:
Alto Saxophone
Donald Fabian
David Lovrien

Tenor Saxophone
Roy Allen Jr.

Baritone Saxophone
John Sweeden

Opus 21


John Adams
Saxophone Concerto

Timothy McAllister, alto saxophone

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Marin Alsop, conductor

London, Proms 2014


Chris Potter – Tenor sax, bass clarinet
Craig Taborn – Fender Rhodes
Adam Rogers – Electric Guitar
Nate Smith – Drums

Produced, directed and edited by Jim McGorman.

Hail to him for this film.


John Coltrane’s masterwork, A Love Supreme, was only played once in live concert. This portion is the only surviving film of that 1965 performance.

victor aguiar

Attilio Berni






Koehler and Magine

Merle Johnston’s Saxophone Quartet.
Larry Abbott (lead alto), Johnston (tenor), Bobby Burns (bar), Buddy Saffer 2nd alto.


My Favorite things by John Coltrane from the album “My Favorite Things”.

Dorian Grey

“Jazz in Studio 1” – Danish TV Studios – Denmark
original broadcast date: 1969-10-30

Oscar Peterson – Piano
Sam Jones – Bass
Bobby Durham – Drums
Dexter Gordon – Tenor Sax

Jazz Video Guy

Tenor man Joe Lovano and Piano Master Hank Jones are the Duo Made in Heaven. Henry “Hank” Jones (July 31, 1918 — May 16, 2010) was an American jazz pianist, bandleader, arranger, and composer. Critics and musicians described Jones as eloquent, lyrical, and impeccable. In 1989, The National Endowment for the Arts honored him with the NEA Jazz Masters Award, He was also honored in 2003 with the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP) Jazz Living Legend Award. In 2008, he was awarded the National Medal of Arts. On April 13, 2009, the University of Hartford presented Jones with a Doctorate Degree for his musical accomplishments.
Jones recorded over sixty albums under his own name, and countless others as a sideman

Juanma Letamendia